The popular adage spice up your life is a great motto to live by, but sometimes you just need to zest up your life! There is something about citrus zest that just makes recipes a roller coaster for your taste buds, it’s tangy, it’s citrusy, it just gives it that extra kick needed to launch your recipe to culinary stardom. Some people use a microplane, a fancy word for super tiny grater, but here I’m going show you a super simple way of making your own zest. I use it for many of my recipes, like salmon, asparagus, or Vietnamese lemon beef salad.

First, with a paring knife cut the two ends of the lemon…

Vertically cut the peel off… 

Then use the white rind as guide…

Repeat until the whole lemon is peeled…

 Lay the lemon peel flat and remove the pith, AKA the white part …

Scrape the rest of the pith with a paring knife…

 Cut in thin slices and enjoy…

In case you are wondering why the hell would you go through so much trouble to remove the pith. Well, it’s because it has a bitter flavor that might ruin the flavors of the dish. So, take the extra bit of time, it is well worth it!!

An extra tip: when I have free time, I just cut up several lemons and store the zest in an air tight container (it should last minimum a week), so I can have home-made lemon zest for all the recipes! And so can you, if you follow my recipe!!!

Check out all the zest I used for one of my favorite dishes Vietnamese Lemon Beef Salad

