Patriotic Cupcakes 

Ingredients

  • Lemon or white box cake
  • Ingredients the box calls for
  • Food coloring

Directions

Combine all ingredients until fully incorporated with a whisk or electric mixer. Scrape the sides of bowl and then beat on med-high speed for 2 minutes.

For the layering

Divide the batter into three batches.

Mix in the food coloring one drop at the time, until you reach the desired intensity for the blue and red.

Leave 1 batch plain, so it will act as the white of the flag. Also, use 1 spoon per color to avoid mixing the colors.

Spoon 2 spoonfuls of each color into the lining.  I did red first, then white, and last blue.

Tip: have a bowl of water to wet your finger. Use the wet finger to help slide batter gently out of the spoon and into the liner. This is going to prevent the batter from sticking to your fingers.  

Ready for my cupcake mayhem…. Here it is. OUCH! The bad news is that I’m a lousy baker because I don’t have the finesse it takes to be a good baker and I don’t like to follow recipes! Which is why, I spooned way to much batter in the cupcakes and some of them overflowed. Also, I stabbed them with my chef’s knife to see if they were ready. All bad, the good news is that I corrected the recipe for you guys. For example, I used 3 spoons of each batter instead of 2, which is the right amount noted in the recipe. And, in the spirit of  constant improvement, I’m going to start baking and following the recipes more often!

Tips to avoid kitchen mayhem!

Baking cups come in many different sizes. To figure out how many spoonfuls of batter you need per cup, use water first.  Fill in the liner with water and count how many spoon it takes to fill it 2/3 of the way. Then, with the count, divide that number into the amount of colors you have. For example, if it takes 6 spoonfuls to fill the liner 2/3 of the way and you have 3 colors, use 2 spoons per color! Also, make sure the batter is spread evenly around the liner otherwise you’ll get monster cupcakes with uneven sides. AND, don’t use a giant knife to check if they are ready, use a toothpick. Uhg, so much stuff to get baking right.

Luckily some of them were ok. I frosted them with an orange zesty cream cheese frosting and decorated them with blue and red sprinkles! Enjoy!


